St. Christopher offers protection to travelers …

Yesterday my sister dropped by my work to give me a gift for my trip to Spain.  She handed me a gift bag with a small burgundy box.  I couldn’t imagine what it could be.  I opened the box to find a beautiful sterling silver St. Christopher medallion.  I had the opportunity to have it blessed today while I was at church at a meeting by our Pastor.

St. Christopher

St. Christopher

This was a perfect gift.  My sister Patty always has a knack for giving the perfect gifts.  She is always so thoughtful.  I will wear it on my journey as a reminder to trust in God.  He never puts anything in front of us that we cannot handle.

My sister will not be traveling with me on this trip but she too will be walking with me.  Her and I have been walking since last year and we have walked many miles over the last year.  The only thing that has been missing is our sister Diana.

For those of you who are not familiar with St. Christopher I found some information online. See below.

Medallions with St. Christopher’s name and image are commonly worn as pendants, especially by travelers, to show devotion and as a request for his blessing. Miniature statues are frequently displayed in automobiles. In French a widespread phrase for such medals is “Regarde St Christophe et va-t-en rassuré” (“Look at St Christopher and go on reassured”); Saint Christopher medals and holy cards in Spanish have the phrase “Si en San Cristóbal confías, de accidente no morirás” (“If you trust St. Christopher, you won’t die in an accident”). In Austria an annual collection for providing vehicles for the use of missionaries is taken up on a Sunday close to the feast of Saint Christopher, asking people to contribute a very small sum of money for every kilometer that they have traveled safely during the year.

St. Christopher is a widely popular saint, especially revered by athletes, marinersferrymen, and travelers.[3] He is revered as one of the Fourteen Holy Helpers. He holds patronage of things related to travel and travelers — against lightning and pestilence — and patronage for archersbachelors; boatmen; soldiers; bookbindersepilepsy; floods; fruit dealers; fullersgardeners; a holy death; mariners; market carriers; motorists and drivers; sailors; storms; surfers;[12] toothache; mountaineering; and transportation workers.

One thought on “St. Christopher offers protection to travelers …

Leave a Reply

