El Primer Dia Del Camino

20130831-164137.jpg
This morning I was awaken out of a dead sleep at 7:30 am as I have not been sleeping well since I arrived. We get dressed and we are out the door a little after 8 am. We stop for cafe con leche, cafe americano and I have tea. The coffee here is way to strong for me. It looks delicious, wouldn’t you agree?
20130831-170313.jpg

Mark (Angelica’s husband) arrived by train at 2:30 am today without incident.

What was I thinking crosses my mind as I am walking around mile 8 or 9.
Then I have a talk with myself and I remember why I am here. To push my self out of my comfort zone, do more with less and whatever other valuable lessons I may learn along the way.
20130831-171134.jpg
I have already pushed myself out of my comfort zone a few times.

The weather was great today. We walked 13 miles and arrived at our first destination at 3 pm after a few stops to readjust our packs, add band aids, etc.

My favorite meal to date is called a Bocadillo (a cured ham much like prosciutto and cheese ) in a fresh roll. No condiments or lettuce or tomato, very simple sandwich. So delicious. I was concerned for no reason. I am eating well.

I already feel closer to God as I have been having some conversations with him about parts of my life I would like to improve upon.

8 thoughts on “El Primer Dia Del Camino

  1. Coffee looks wonderful. I have faith that you will accomplish everything you set out to do and more than you ever imagined.

  2. 13 miles is a great first day! Oh how I miss my Cafe con Leche! Miss my Vino Tinto but must admit after more than 4 combined months on the Camino’s I sureso not miss Bocodillos 🙂
    Buen Camino dear Suzie!

  3. 13 miles is a great first day! Oh how I miss my Cafe con Leche! Miss my Vino Tinto but must admit after more than 4 combined months on the Camino’s I sure do not miss Bocodillos 🙂
    Buen Camino dear Suzie!

  4. I am so proud of you and the strength you are already showing to push yourself. You will do this Susie. I have every faith in you and the strength of your personal convictions. It is so awesome to go on this journey with you!!!

Leave a Reply

