Mt. Whitney is next on the list of destinations

Now that I have been back for over a month I have started to think about the next adventure…..

Mt. Whitney is another one of the items on my list of things to do, God willing.  The plan is to hike Mt. Whitney in August 2014. I have invited fellow hikers to join me on this hike.  It is a 21 mile hike with an elevation gain of 6,000 ft.  It is the highest peak in the lower 48 states, 14,497 ft in elevation at its highest point. The level of difficulty is strenuous. Because of the possibility of elevation sickness we will do this hike in two to three days so we can adjust to the elevation over a couple of days.  Which means we will carry everything necessary to camp overnight for either 1 or two nights including food and water.OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Mt. Whitney, east of the California town of Lone Pine along US Highway 395 is most easily accessed by the Whitney Portal Trailhead (8,365 ft), 13 miles east of town. This granite peak of the Sierra Nevada Range, located in the John Muir Wilderness and Sequoia National Park (its western face), is the highest point south of Alaska.

Mt. Whitney is one of the most popular wilderness destinations in the world! Backpackers and climbers visit Whitney from all corners of the globe.OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

While accessible without extensive training or technical equipment, summiting Mt. Whitney still requires planning, permits, practice and preparation.

Mount Whitney Wildlife

  • Bears
  • Marmots
  • Mice
  • Squirrels
  • Quail
  • Robins
  • Deer
  • Blue Jays

We will need to take precautions for bears and marmots!  More on precautions later.

Marmots will chew through your tent to get to anything that smells interesting — leave the door open so they don’t make their own entrance. And the bears well they will do anything to get at food.  More on bear safety later.

Now to make time for hiking.  We have some great local hikes in the San Bernardino and San Gabriel mountains to prepare us for Mt. Whitney. If you would like to join me on this hike, please contact me.

Some information from http://www.mount-whitney.com.

Whitney Portal Recreation Area. Near Lone Pine...

Whitney Portal Recreation Area. Near Lone Pine, California. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

4 thoughts on “Mt. Whitney is next on the list of destinations

  1. Reblogged this on My Camino de Santiago and commented:
    So very lucky that I get to go on this adventure with Susie. I started training today with a hike up Bear Mountain trail with an elevation gain of 1800 ft. Photos to follow.

  2. Go for it girls! I am with you in spirit even though I have no desire to do it myself! I would love to do some training hikes with you Susie and I think I can get Bobbie out there with me on a weekend trip! We’ll discuss…See you around Thanksgiving and we can do a little trekking!!

Leave a Reply

