PCT – My go to hike when I don’t have a lot of time

Today 3 of us hiked the PCT for a short 5+ mile hike in a couple of hours.  This hike is close to home and is a pretty easy hike.

2013-11-02 11.08.10

We spent some time talking about the Mt. Whitney hike next summer. Marilyn and Brigit hiked with me today.  Marilyn is an avid hiker and has hiked part of Mt. Whitney.  Her husband and son have hiked Mt. Whitney up and back in a day.  

Marilyn's husband Bill, their son and a friend.

Marilyn’s husband Bill, their son and a friend.

Marilyn and her husband have done some backpacking as well and shared with us some ideas on what we need to pack and that our backpacks will slow us down some.  From my experience in Spain, I know that carrying 20 pounds makes a difference.  I imagine we will each need to carry around 30 pounds. 

I was told that the Mt. Whitney Portal Store website has lots of information. Check it out.

Leave a Reply

