Sitton Peak Hike

2013-11-11 09.03.52

Monday, November 11, 2013 four of us headed out to Lake Elsinore to hike Sitton Peak.  This hike has a 2,150 elevation gain and is about 10 miles round trip.  The weather was to be about 79 degrees.  We headed up the trail around 9 am and the sun was already beating down on us.  There was shade along the trail but it was mostly sunny. 2013-11-11 11.06.42This hike took about 4.5 hours and was a little over 10 miles.  The last 1/2 mile was pretty tough.  I have hiked many miles and I still have a lot to learn.  I have always taken just water to drink.  Yesterday that was not enough. About 20 yds. before I reached the peak I started to get nauseous and wanted to stop there.  Angelica and Mark coaxed me up to the top as I was so close.  Once I reached the top, I explained that I was nauseous.  They gave me a bottle of Gatorade and pretty quickly I started to feel better. They also gave me a protein bar. I took a bite of it and then put it away as I couldn’t eat it.  We took a quick break and headed back down to Patty.  She didn’t make it all the way up, however she did all but about the last 100 yds. Patty had not walked in the last few weeks and didn’t think she could do this hike.  I was so proud of her as she dug deep and did really well.

Patty making her way up the hill

          Patty making her way up the hill

We have many more hikes to complete to be ready to do Mt. Whitney and a lot more lessons to learn.  I found out today from a fellow hiker that drinking Chocolate Milk at the end of a hike is a great way to replenish muscle glycogen and provide protein and other nutrients to help repair muscles. Sounds good to me. I will try it as I had sore quad muscles today.

Mark in the distance

                  Mark in the distance

 

This peak is only 3,272 feet tall.  Mt. Whitney is 12,000 ft tall. We have a long way to go to be ready to conquer the big mountain.

 

One thought on “Sitton Peak Hike

Leave a Reply

