Backpacking on the PCT near Deep Creek

My goal this year was to do a beginner backpacking trip. Some friends of mine and I scheduled a backpack trip for September. However, I recently joined a new meet-up group from the local mountains in the Crestline, Lake Arrowhead area. The group scheduled a short backpacking trip on the PCT in the Deep Creek area near Lake Arrowhead this weekend and I decided to go so that I would be prepared for our September hike.

I have been buying my lightweight equipment in preparation for my backpacking so I was ready to go.
PCT to Bench CampWe were going to start at 12 noon but were held up by the Forest Service for a couple of hours because of a person who decided they wanted to cut down a tree and then changed their mind. The Forest Service had to go in and take it down and clear the road. No big deal as we were able to spend extra time hydrating before we got on the trail at 2 pm. It was a warm day but there was a nice breeze to keep us cool.

The guys taking a break

The guys taking a break

Our group consisted of 3 men and 3 women. We made the 4 mile trek to camp in about 2 1/2 hours. My pack weighed in at about 28 pounds. There were a couple of packs weighing in over 36 pounds including sixty something year old LoriAnn’s. She was a trooper.

Bench Camp

Bench Camp

We setup our tents and then gathered wood for the fire. The guys carried in a small shovel, axe and saw to cut up wood and get the campfire started. We cleaned up as best we could and then settled in by the campfire to cook hotdogs. Joe brought leftover Thai food for his dinner. His dinner smelled good but my Johnsonville Brats were tasty and a nice treat as I don’t often eat hotdogs.

Eating Breakfast

Eating Breakfast

Joe giving me a water filtering lesson

Joe giving me a water filtering lesson

We woke up this morning to another campfire compliments of Raquel’s husband, John. I brought Oatmeal which I made using my new Jetboil. Pretty cool purchase. Before we packed up and headed back to the cars Joe gave me a water filtering lesson using the creek water. It’s important to filter creek water so it’s safe for drinking.

Joe, Raquel, and Lori Ann almost back to the cars

Joe, Raquel, and Lori Ann almost back to the cars

Our trip back was a little easier as our packs were somewhat lighter. We made better time as it was mostly down hill. It was a great trip and my equipment was perfect. There are very little changes that need to be made.

The gnats were a problem

The gnats were a problem

The gnats kept buzzing my head so I put on a bug net that Raquel gave to me. It worked great. I can now say I have hiked the PCT. Albeit just a small piece of it. But I definitely have the bug to hike the rest of it. Even if I have to do it in Sections.

2 thoughts on “Backpacking on the PCT near Deep Creek

  1. WOW! That is great. I spent 12 days backpacking in UT back in the late 1970s. My pack got heavier by the day because I was assigned to carry out the trash!

Leave a Reply

