Viejo San Juan, El Morro and Shopping

imageTuesday we took to the streets of Viejo San Juan to see the sights and visit El Morro, the fort that guarded the island back in the day. It is a must see if you come to the island.

Restaurant Barrachina

Restaurant Barrachina

We also saw the birthplace (1963) and home of the Pina Colada.
Parque de las Palomas

Parque de las Palomas

We took my Mom to see the Parque de las Palomas as it was on her list of things to see. We followed that up with some shopping and then lunch at a local cafe that the trolley driver recommended. I think I have had my fill of tostones (fried plantains) and arroz y habichuelas (rice and beans).
Carne Frita, rice, beans and tostones.

Carne Frita, rice, beans and tostones.

imageWhen I was here many years ago and I tasted passion fruit juice aka Parcha. This time around I had it in a sorbet and also as a juice, it is my favorite and also an island favorite.

It’s been a great trip and the weather had been great. January is definitely the best month to visit as the humidity is not a problem at all.

One thought on “Viejo San Juan, El Morro and Shopping

Leave a Reply

