Hitchhikers – Pay It Forward

May 23, 2016

This weekend I spent two days in Wrightwood on the PCT.  The trail is still full of PCT thru-hikers which is always a treat.

IMG_0177

Hiking in the Clouds.

Friday I hiked with Patty and a friend of hers from the I.E.  The weather was super cool, in the 40’s with the wind blowing about 15 mph.  We headed off on the PCT from Grassy Hollow Visitors center North toward Vincent Gap which is about a 3.5 mile hike one-way with a mere 715 elevation change. We walked in and out of the clouds and had some beautiful views.

IMG_0179

Patty, Betsy and the purple Lupine.

We took a break at Vincent Gap and we chatted with a PCT hiker from Scottsdale.  He told us about his first 375 miles on the trail.  I was able to imagine his journey as he talked. I have been following hikers over the last few years and I knew the places of which he spoke.  It was such a thrill for me to talk to an actual hiker from the trail.  I know it sounds silly.  I told Patty the the hikers were like movie stars to me.  Silly, right?

We headed back to Grassy Hollow and made good time. We jumped in the car and headed back to Wrightwood for lunch. After a mile or so on the road we saw some thru-hikers hitchhiking with hopes for a ride back to town.  I, of course,  had to pull over to give them a ride to town. They would be taking Saturday off as a NERO ( 0 miles hiked) day.  I was excited to meet them and hear more stories of the trail and my chance to pay it forward.  You might remember my experience on the Camino de Santiago and accepting a ride from a stranger.  We were able to fit 3 hikers and their huge backpacks in the car.  One of them was glad to get in the back with the backpacks so as not to be left behind.  We found out that the 3 of them had met on the AT (Appalachian Trail) which is a similar trail on the east coast. Two of them ended up as a couple and were now hiking the PCT.  I am guessing there must be several love stories a year on the PCT.

600_450324436

Maureen, Joe, Susie, David and Raquel

Sunday, Mountain Communities Hiking Adventures group and I started out at Vincent Gap and headed up to Baden-Powell, another 4 mile hike.  However, this hike had an elevation gain of about 2,,800 ft. one way.  I had hiked Baden-Powell in 2013 so I knew what to expect.  I was pleasantly surprised that this time the hike seemed more like a moderate hike rather than the strenuous hike that it was 3 years ago.  My stamina and strength has greatly improved.  We took a nice break at the top.  I, of course had to stay away from the edges as we were at 9,399 ft and it was a long way down in every direction.  My fear of heights gets better the more I hike, but I still get a queasy stomach in certain situations.

600_450283355

So, we begin our descent back to the parking lot.  The trail had some snow in the last mile to the top so we had to make our way through the same snow.  It was slippery so we took our time.  This group is so great about helping each other and offering a helping hand or moral support as needed.  I am lucky to be part of the group.

IMG_0195

MK, Susie, Bamboo, and Mash

As we headed back down the trail, I hear “Are you the one that gave us a ride to town on Friday?”  It was the three hikers we had given a ride on Friday.  What a nice surprise to see them again.  We chatted for a few minutes and they told us what a great time they had in Wrightwood. Raquel offered to take the photo above and I am glad she did.  It was another great day on the trail and we had cool weather which is always nice when you are hiking.

 

One thought on “Hitchhikers – Pay It Forward

  1. Love hearing these stories! The accomplishments of these hikers speak to a life well lived and the value of hard earned adventure. I envy them and you the shared experiences. BESOS!!

Leave a Reply

