Trusting Him and Walking on the Moon

This weekend I went to the Sierras outside of Bishop and stayed in the Big Trees Campground with our meetup group.  We headed out on Thursday at noon and arrived around 4 pm after stopping at Schat’s Bakery, a famous bakery in Bishop.

We setup our tents, BBQ’d dinner and some of the group played Frisbee to unwind from the 4 hour ride to camp.

IMG_0512The next morning a few of us dropped off a couple of cars at the end of the trail and then picked up the others to start our hike near South Lake.  The plan was to hike to the 5 Tyee Lakes and on to Lake Sabrina where we left the cars. It is a about 8 – 10 miles and a 2400 ft. vertical elevation gain. We had a nice variety of hikers.

I was the coordinator for the weekend, so it is on me to make decisions for the group, make sure everyone is safe, etc.  A situation arose that prompted me to worry and get upset.  As I tend to do when I hike alone, I started a conversation with our Lord and as he always does, he presented a solution and the rest of the day went really well.  He never fails us.  I am convinced that part of the reason that hiking has been brought into my life is to strengthen my relationship with God.  I have found so much clarity on the trail.  I feel so blessed.

IMG_0516

The first Tyee Lake

The first few miles to the first lake were all uphill.  We saw many backpackers coming down the hill after spending some time in the wilderness.  We took a break, made some adjustments and continued on to the next 4 lakes before heading up a long set of steep and sandy switchbacks.  Once we reached the top after 6 miles and about 4 hours we were “Walking on the Moon”.

IMG_0522

Mark and Marilyn on Table Mountain at 11,360 ft

There was not much of a landscape other than sand and  rocks.  It reminded us of what it might look like on the moon.  We were over 11,000 ft.  This is the highest elevation I have ever hiked.  The hardest part of the hike was now behind us and now onto the last leg.  We headed up and over the moon and back into the trees and then down a long steep, rocky set of switchbacks.  I’m okay going uphill on the steep trail, not so much on the downhill.  I kept my eyes on the trail and took my time as my fellow hikers just zipped down the hill.  I was lucky enough to be hiking with Mark who stays close by to encourage me and keep me calm on these down hill trails.  I have hiked with Mark a few times on some pretty steep trails.

600_453181723

We passed Lake George on our way down and then finally reached Lake Sabrina.  The views of Lake Sabrina as we finished up our hike were amazing.  We also had a view of a beautiful waterfall in the background. The hike took us 7 hours.  We then headed back to camp for a delicious Spaghetti Potluck which was a great end to a beautiful day.

600_453174680

One thought on “Trusting Him and Walking on the Moon

  1. We hiked so many trails and lakes and it is to hard for me to pick a favorite. However Table Top was amazing! Thank you for planning n organizing this whole event. Your a super great organizer and coordinator and leader!

Leave a Reply

