Bridge to Nowhere in the San Gabriel Mountains

Today I set out on a new trail. Mark Deaner was our trail leader for this hike.  He chose the Bridge to Nowhere in the San Gabriel Mountains.

Bridge to Nowhere

Bridge to Nowhere

It turns out we use to go to the San Gabriel Mountains as children with our parents and some of our cousins, aunts and uncles.  Those were good times. Plenty of fun, water and family time.  I feel lucky to have those memories and they came flooding back to me today.

IMG_0689

This hike was filled with plenty of water crossings, rocks to climb and beauty everywhere.

IMG_0695 Today I was able to spend some quality time with my sister in law, Gina Caire.  We had a great time trekking through the many trails and varied terrain. She was a great addition to our hike and was quite the hiker.  She kept up with us and did not miss a step. There were new memories created today, I look forward to spending more time with her.  She agreed to come back and hike with us.

 

Also along for the hike was Angelica who as I mentioned before will be joining me on the “Camino”. She too was a trooper today.  There were some pretty brutal rocks to traverse near the bridge to nowhere.

IMG_0687

This was probably the toughest hike I have done so far, almost 9 miles and 5 1/2 hours.  I came home took a quick shower and crashed.  That was of course, after a nice lunch stop at the local Taco Nazo (famous for fish tacos).

IMG_0694

One step closer to the “Camino”

 

 

1 thought on “Bridge to Nowhere in the San Gabriel Mountains

Leave a comment